Accounting and taxation

The tax and accounting treatment of digital assets today is complex and raises specific questions, which we are addressing in this working group.

Work carried out
  • Position paper on the accounting and tax treatment of digital assets (in draft)

COVID19 Crisis

The economic and health crisis caused by the COVID19 has not spared any industry, including the digital assets industry. The working group set up on this occasion aims to accompany the sector in this difficult period - in particular by supporting them in their efforts to benefit from the support measures put in place and by highlighting the solutions they are proposing to deal with the pitfalls of the crisis - and to take stock of the impact of COVID19 on the players and the lessons to be learned from it in order to define the "new normal".

Work carried out
  • Dedicated site "Digital assets and COVID19".
  • Background note "COVID 19 and the transformation of the financial industry".
  • Directory of post-crisis solutions proposed by Adan members
  • Survey on the impact of the COVID19 on the crypto/blockchain industry, and synthesis report

Fight against money laundering and terrorist financing

We work with members, regulators and international organizations to ensure that KYC-AML dispositions are tailored to crypto-assets.

Work carried out
  • Note to the French authorities on the work of the Financial Action Task Force
  • Response to French regulator AML-TF questionnaire
  • Participation in dedicated working groups (Treasury, Fintech ACPR Forum)
  • Work on the "Travel Rule"
  • Operational reference frame (under construction)
  • Position paper

Bank relations

It is still very difficult today for players in the world of digital assets to open a bank account in France. This is a symptom of the difficult relations between the sector and traditional financial players. We are working to find practical solutions to these blockages.

Work carried out
  • Participation in market working groups with banking players
  • Response to the Competition Authority's consultation on the relationship between the banking sector and the cryoto-assets sector
  • Bilateral contacts and work with other market associations (AMAFI, AFTI, AGF, FBF)

Security tokens

Security tokens - financial instruments issued and traded on the blockchain - raise many questions. Indeed, unlike the "digital assets" introduced by the PACTE law in France, security tokens are not new legal objects: they are legally qualified as financial instruments and, therefore, subject to the relevant European regulations: MiFID 2, MAR, CSDR, Finality, etc. However, in the current state of European legislation, subjecting security tokens to the traditional framework applicable to financial instruments reveals many incompatibilities: the resulting regulatory uncertainty hinders the development of this new market.

The Adan Security tokens working group is considering the necessary adaptations of the existing rules, and to this end is promoting the solution of a European pilot scheme. The work carried out in this body is being conducted in close coordination with the AMF as part of its proposal for a European Digital Lab.

Work carried out
  • Promotion of the European Digital Laboratory / pilot scheme for security tokens
  • Report "Security tokens: the need for an appropriate European framework".
  • Participation in the drafting of the HCJP Security tokens report

Stablecoins

Stablecoins, digital assets whose value is close or identical to that of another reference value (usually a fiduciary currency) are projected to the forefront of the international scene with the announcement, in June 2019, of the Libra project piloted by Facebook. Since then, private companies, policy-makers and regulators around the world have been analyzing this phenomenon. In this respect, they are notably wondering about the regulatory framework that should be applied to them. The advent of stablecoins has also had the virtue of awakening the appetite of Central Banks for an older subject, namely the issuance of a genuine central bank digital currency (CBDC), and of considering the blockchain as the technological support for this innovation. At the same time, private initiatives have developed rapidly, and more than 10 billion dollars of stablecoins have already been issued on public blockchains.

The Stablecoins working group accompanies the reflections of private actors and authorities on these subjects, and tries in particular to improve the understanding of these assets and their fundamental interest for the acceleration of the crypto/blockchain industry.

Work carried out
  • Response to the FSB consultation on stablecoins
  • Participation in the Banque de France's call for experimentation for a CBDC
  • Reflections on a euro stablecoin

Comptabilité et fiscalité

Le traitement fiscal et comptable des actifs numériques est aujourd'hui complexe et pose des questions spécifiques, que nous traitons au sein de ce groupe de travail.

Travaux effectués
  • Note de position sur le régime comptable et fiscal des actifs numériques (en rédaction)

Crise du COVID19

La crise économique et sanitaire provoquée par la pandémie de la COVID19 n’a épargné aucune industrie, dont celle des actifs numériques. Le groupe de travail monté à cette occasion vise à accompagner le secteur dans cette période difficile - notamment en les soutenant dans leurs démarches afin de bénéficier des mesures de soutien mises en place et en mettant en avant les solutions qu’ils proposent face aux écueils de la crise - et à dresser le bilan de l’impact du COVID19 sur les acteurs et des leçons qu’il faut en tirer pour définir le “nouveau normal”.

Travaux effectués
  • Site dédié “Actifs numériques et COVID19"
  • Note de cadrage “COVID 19 et transformation de l’industrie financière”
  • Répertoire des solutions post-crise proposées par les membres de l’Adan
  • Enquête sur l’impact de la crise du COVID19 sur l’industrie crypto/blockchain, et rapport de synthèse

Lutte contre le blanchiment et financement du terrorisme

Nous travaillons avec les membres, les régulateurs et les organisations internationales pour s'assurer que les dispositifs de lutte contre le financement du terrorisme sont adaptés aux actifs numériques.

Travaux effectués
  • Note à destination des autorités françaises sur les travaux du Groupe d'Action Financière
  • Réponse au questionnaire LCB-FT de l'ACPR
  • Participation aux groupes de travail dédiés (DG Trésor, Forum Fintech ACPR)
  • Travaux sur la "Travel Rule"
  • Référentiel opérationnel de référence (en construction)
  • Note de position (en construction)

Relations banques

Il est toujours très difficile aujourd'hui pour les acteurs du monde des actifs numériques d'ouvrir un compte bancaire en France. C'est un symptôme des relations difficiles entre le secteur et celui des acteurs financiers traditionnels. Nous oeuvrons dans ce groupe de travail pour trouver des solutions pratiques à ces blocages.

Travaux effectués
  • Participation à des groupes de travail de place avec les acteurs bancaires
  • Réponse à la consultation de l'Autorité de la Concurrence sur les relations entre le secteur bancaire et le secteur des actifs numériques
  • Contacts et travaux bilatéraux avec les autres associations de place (AMAFI, AFTI, AGF, FBF)

Security tokens

Les security tokens - des instruments financiers émis et négociés sur la blockchain - soulèvent de nombreuses questions. En effet, contrairement aux « actifs numériques » introduits par la loi PACTE, les security tokens ne sont pas des objets légaux nouveaux : ils sont juridiquement qualifiés d’instruments financiers et, par conséquent, soumis à la réglementation européenne afférente : MIF 2, MAR, CSDR, Finalité, etc. Or, en l’état actuel des textes européens, l’assujettissement des security tokens au cadre traditionnel applicable aux instruments financiers révèle de nombreuses incompatibilités : l’incertitude réglementaire qui en découlent entrave le développement de ce nouveau marché.

Le groupe de travail Security tokens de l’Adan réfléchit aux nécessaires adaptations des règles existantes, et pour ce faire promeut la solution d’un régime pilote européen. Les travaux menés dans cette instance sont menés en étroite coordination avec l’AMF dans le cadre de sa proposition de Laboratoire numérique européen (« Digital Lab »).

Travaux effectués
  • Promotion du Laboratoire numérique européen / régime pilote pour les security tokens
  • Rapport « Security tokens : nécessité d’un cadre européen adapté »
  • Participation à la rédaction du rapport Security tokens du HCJP

Stablecoins

Les stablecoins, actifs numériques dont la valeur est proche ou identique à celle d’une autre valeur de référence (habituellement une monnaie fiduciaire) sont projetés sur le devant de la scène internationale avec l’annonce, en juin 2019, du projet Libra piloté par Facebook. Depuis, les entreprises privées, décideurs et régulateurs du monde entier analysent ce phénomène. A ce titre, ils s’interrogent notamment sur le cadre réglementaire devant leur être appliqués. L’avènement des stablecoins a également eu la vertu de réveiller l’appétit des Banques centrales sur un sujet plus ancien, à savoir l’émission d’une véritable monnaie digitale de banque centrale (CBDC), et d’envisager la blockchain comme le support technologique de cette innovation. En parallèle, des initiatives privées se sont rapidement développées, et plus de 10 milliards de dollars de stablecoins ont d’ores et déjà été émis sur les blockchains publiques.

Le groupe de travail Stablecoins de l’Adan accompagne les réflexions des acteurs privés et des autorités sur ces sujets, et tente notamment d’améliorer la compréhension de ces actifs et de leur intérêt fondamental pour l’accélération de l’industrie crypto/blockchain.

Travaux effectués
  • Réponse à la consultation du FSB sur les stablecoins
  • Participation à l’appel à expérimentation de la Banque de France pour une MDBC
  • Réflexions autour d’un stablecoin euro